realizations

It’s been a minute, but I’ve got a story.

Yesterday my flight took off forty minutes late.  This wouldn’t be a problem, except that I only had a fifty-minute layover, and my connection took off ten minutes early (I didn’t even realize taking off early was a thing).  I wasn’t thrilled about taking a later flight, but then all of these things happened:

I got a snack, and the employee discounted my purchase (I paid it forward with her tip).

My yogurt was delicious.

I found a great book and got some candy that I rarely eat but really love.

I got to charge my phone.

When I got on my flight, no one was sitting in the two seats next to me. I had an entire row to myself!

I watched four episodes of a hilarious tv show and had to stop myself from laughing out loud.

The  flight attendant gave me pretzels, cookies, and peanuts.

After a trip away from home, that layover and that flight were delightful introvert recharging time for me.  (I ended up throwing up on the flight–a first–due to some wicked turbulence, but that’s a story for another time.)

When I got home, I took a shower, my dad brought me some Sprite, and I settled into the comfiest pajamas and the comfiest bathrobe and snuggled up under my new Moana blanket.  I fell asleep as the fireworks went off.  It was the best.

 

This reminded me of a pattern in my life.  I (almost always) know what I want, but then I don’t get it, because God has something better in store.  He knows what I need without my even knowing what I need.  I wanted to get home quickly–He knew I needed that layover.  I wanted to be an English major–He knew I’d love teaching.  I wanted to be married at 21–He knew it was not the right time.  I couldn’t see it then, but I am so, so glad that I was not getting married in the midst of what happened the year I was 21. I’m so glad for rescheduled flights, and failed relationships, and promptings to move.  I’m so glad for all of the times I have not gotten what I’ve wanted, because then there has been room for what I’ve needed.

Leave a Reply

